August 28 Colorado-Cherokee Trail Chapter Zoom Presentation


Please join us for a visit with Colorado historian and author, Dr. Jeff Broome.  A member of OCTA, Jeff is a leading historian on the subject of Indian wars and the author of four books on the Central Plains Indian war.

His most recent book, Indian Raids and Massacres: Essays on the Central Plains Indian War, published in 2020, covered incidents in Kansas, Colorado and Nebraska from 1864-1870 and was the feature of one of our events last year.

In this year’s event, Jeff will delve further into the causes of the Sand Creek Massacre, describe the tragic events surrounding the capture and death of Clara Blinn and her son, and provide further insights into incidents described in his most recent book.  He will also share some fascinating “lessons learned” in the historical research he has undertaken over the past 26 years.

Time:
1:00 Pacific
2:00 Mountain
3:00 Central
4:00 Eastern

Topic: OCTA Colorado-Cherokee Trail Chapter Zoom event
Time: Aug 28, 2021 02:00 PM Mountain Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85140128719

Future Zoom presentations are as scheduled:

September 25:
Emigrant Trails Hall of Fame
Presentation by the national organization’s Hall of Fame Committee on the new inductees for 2021

October 16:
The Oregon Trail is Big Business
Presentation by Roger Blair

November 20:
Finding the Oregon Trail Route to the Whitman Mission
Presentation by David Welch